Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Along with the industrialization and modernization of the world, environmental issues are also among one of the biggest concerns of humans. Some argue that more and more plants and animals are on the edge of extinction, and it is the most alarming phenomenon. Meanwhile, others believe that other environmental problems should be seriously taken into consideration. I side with the second idea as I believe that ecological issues are not only about the extinction of living species but also about other concerns. Apparently, the increasing loss of living creatures may severely have negative impacts on the Earth. As all animals - including humans - and plants are meant to coexist to create a balanced and diverse ecosystem, when some species become extinct, people may have no materials to study or explore in the future. Moreover, the extinction of some creatures also leads to other species’ extinction. For example, as dodo birds digested seeds from trees named Calvaria trees, after this type of bird vanished, the trees mentioned above were incapable of germinating seeds. This is an alarming issue and humans should not let similar situations happen in the future. Nevertheless, there are also some other worrying environmental problems including: deforestation, air pollution, water pollution, extreme natural disasters, etc. They are somehow interrelated since the consequences of one issue can be the causes of other problems, too. For instance, deforestation happens when people cut down trees to build houses and factories, and trees are the natural shield that protect humans from natural disasters including flood, storm, landslide, etc. Without forests or trees, the weather may become more and more extreme, the Earth will get warmer rapidly, which can negatively affect humans ’ lives. Some environmentalists may argue that the disappearance of plenty of animals and plants is the main concern nowadays. However, this argument is wrong. This is just one problem arising from recent ecological issues, and there are more serious ones that people should pay attention to. Air pollution, noise pollution, global warming, etc. They all equally have negative effects on the Earth in comparison with the extinction of some particular species. In conclusion, the loss of some kinds of animals and plants can lead to various challenges. However, people should not totally consider it the main environmental issue that humans are facing. I believe that they should be more aware of other ecological problems apart from the extinction of living creatures. By acknowledging this, the environment as well as the Earth can be preserved and able to recover to become a green planet again.