Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the recent decades, along with the development of technology, environment protection has become a highly controversial topic. This has possibly created conflicting viewpoints, especially among environmentalists, on whether people should pay attention to the decline in number of some peculiar species or other ecological issues. I believe the loss of various animals is an important problem, however there are even more crucial environmental problems to be concerned about. To commence with, one of the most alarming problems is global warming, which can be seen as the root cause of most other issues. It is the main factor of the temperature increase of the oceans and the earth’s surface, which is the origin of a number of natural disasters such as flooding, melting of polar ice caps and the rise in sea levels. To elaborate, Venice, a famous city of Italy built on small islands, will be underwater by 2100 if the acceleration of global warming is not curbed. Hence, the detrimental impact of global warming could possibly put humans in jeopardy. It could be claimed that the loss of various species is the most important problem because of the it’s negative effects on human life. This argument states that the disappearance of some creatures would cause the imbalance of the ecosystem since almost every fauna and flora has a specific role. For instance, the overpopulation of rabbits in Australia in the 20th has destroyed land and crops, led to soil erosion because of the lack of natural enemies. Therefore, in theory at least, each species has a vital role in our daily life. However, this environmental argument oversimplifies the issues. Not every species has been proven to have a direct impact on human life so the disappearance of these creatures would not be considerably influential. On the other hand, issues related to global warming or environmental pollution directly affect people. For example, the emissions, which are released to the air by the usage of fossil fuel, is one of the reasons for respiratory diseases such as asthma, chronic bronchitis or even lung cancer. To conclude, climate change is clearly the major threat to our planet. Although the extinction of animals and plants is a conundrum, the influence of climate is more straightforward to the biosphere. A better approach is to encourage people to use eco-friendly products, an adaptation to the environmental consequences of the former industrial economy.