Cooperation rather than competition should be encouraged among high school students. In about 200-250 words, write an essay to express your opinion on the proposal. Use reasons and examples to support your position.

Nowadays the question of whether cooperation or competition should be encouraged more in high schools has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although the idea of organizing academic competitions at schools appears plausible, the cooperation among students who are studying in educational institutions should be taken into account. There are some reasons why people believe that competitions put beyond the learners’ own limits and improve themselves. For example, a competitive sports day helps them to try their best so that they can be proud of their achievements. Moreover, in a competitive structure, children could be taught the concept of fair play, dignity and self-discipline, which are the critical skills needed in adult life. This means that a competitive academic system helps people understand their own strengths and weakness so as to prepare for the world of real work due to the fact that they have to compete with others on a daily basis. However, I may argue that a cooperative environment teaches students the importance of teamwork, good communication and empathy. For instance, a student who works as a part of a team in school could be easy to find a job or lead teams at work as an adult. Furthermore, a cooperative basis could raise a child more emotionally beneficial which results in his confidence. It means that they could balance their lives when they know they have the support of others. Finally, in a highly competitive environment, the mental and physical health of children can be affected. Thus, working together has more advantages than competing. In conclusion, I advocate that coordination among people who learn in learning centres is more crucial. Considering all the pros and cons of them will make the best decision for not only the educators but also the learners.