Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Is this a positive or negative development?

The latest technology has brought about a big change in how individuals connect with others. Although it has made it easier for anyone to make a lot of new connections in a short span of time, I believe it has done more harm than benefit and this essay will prove this. Though modern tech has enabled people to connect with the masses, it has made them feel lonelier than ever. Individuals can now get in touch with new people without having to ever meet them in person. While it ensures one can harness new relationships with people at ease, the connection formed is mostly superficial. For example, folks can now make thousands of friends on social media platforms but most of them are merely acquaintances. The companionship developed is only casual which can make one feel an empty void inside them, and as a result, new generations often complain of being all alone. In addition, new tech platforms have made ghosting easier. People now can easily break their connection with someone for any trivial issues as it might not be feasible for the other person to find them since they met only online. To illustrate, individuals on modern dating platforms connect with multiple partners to choose the best option and simply unfriend them without any notice with a mere click of a button. It has resulted in a lot of distrust among people, especially youngsters who may not be mature enough to deal with such scenarios and may go into depression. To conclude, new tech inventions have completely transformed the way humans communicate with each other and most of these changes have a more negative impact than the benefit received.