Some people think that international car-free day will help in reducing fuel usage and air pollutions. Others believe there is an effective alternative to this. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

In order to curb the increasing air pollution, the world is taking certain measures. The international car-free day is a widely accepted method across several nations, while the population suggest other ways to control it. I am in accord with the aforementioned notion to some extent which I am going to shed light on in subsequent paragraphs. At the outset, there are convincing factors that are in favour of the international car-free day. This is because the whole population is collectively involved in it. Hence, it has a greater impact on air quality. To cite an example, during unprecedented Covid times, when all the automobiles were not being used, the air quality drastically improved. Therefore, initiatives like this should be encouraged further. On the contrary, there are myriad other ways that have been proven successful. Firstly, the government should promote electric vehicles, and offer subsidies to them because it would decrease the sale of diesel and petrol cars. Consequently, the consumption of fossil fuels will decrease. Moreover, the governing bodies implement different techniques for handling air pollution. To exemplify, the Chief Minister of Delhi implemented the Odd-Even rule, which allowed only odd and even registered number cars would be allowed to run on the roads on alternate days respectively. Eventually, this brought down the air pollution and the AQI of the city saw a surge. In conclusion, there are different ways of handling severe issues like air pollution. The international car-free day is a positive plan as it is accepted and executed throughout the globe. However, there are some other alternates like Electric cars and the Odd-Even policy that have been proven successful.