All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for the rise in obesity?. How could it be tackled?

Obesity is becoming a rampant issue that is been encountered globally among children and adults. This essay will give two reasons for this trend and also provide solutions to them. One of the main causes, why people of all ages are becoming obese is because of automation. In other words, due to the ease and comfort that comes with the use of technology, people have become lazy and have adopted a sedentary lifestyle unknowingly. For instance, people were not overweight decades ago, because they had to walk for several miles from one place to another, but this is no longer the case due to the arrival of automobiles. Furthermore, people also have bad eating habits. Parents nowadays would rather purchase fast foods for themselves and their children, instead of cooking healthy homemade food, because of their busy work schedules. As a result of this, they gain a lot of calories over time from the consumption of unhealthy meals. To combat these aforementioned issues, there are measures that have to be implemented both by individuals as well as the government. From the perspective of a person, people have to take responsibility for their health by making a conscious effort and adjustments in their daily living. For example, by deciding to take a 10-minute walk, instead of driving to a nearby market or creating time to cook at home. In addition, the government can create awareness about the dangers of obesity in the communities by running a free and educational campaign that will attract all age groups. To illustrate, the Spanish community in California reported a 5% reduction in their overweight population after a 2-year government-funded advertisement about the ill effect of not exercising and poor diet. In conclusion, our dependency on machinery in our day to day activities and our unhealthy eating habits are the main contributors to the epidemic of obesity. However, people taking ownership of their health by self-discipline and government involvement are the few steps to tackle this predicament.