Some people think that the news media nowadays have influenced people's lives in negative ways. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The advent of new technology has brought a great many opportunities for spreading news not only locally but also globally. Despite the fact that many people consider that the press media has an adverse impact on individuals' lives, I hardly support this notion as it provides safety and well-being for people. To begin with, nobody can deny that news sources play an important role in providing security to the population. Spreading the news about criminals such as robbery, murder or kidnapping, the mass media raises the cautiousness of society. Furthermore, having informed about upcoming natural calamities like earthquakes, storms, flooding, tsunami and others, people start to seek preventive measures, This is proven by statistics that showed a larger percentage of people's lives and properties were saved due to the Weather forecasts. Thus, the media news has contributed to the safety of the community. Moreover, another essential contribution of the daily news is promoting the welfare of the public. Because it is hard to accept that ordinary citizens are likely to meet official authorities such as the president, political leaders or others, the news channels and newspapers are the main tools for delivering messages about citizens' complaints or challenges to appropriate authorities. For example, in my home country, many ordinary people are receiving support from the government as a result of social networking bloggers' actions. Therefore, the media is one of the stimulator factors for the improvement of people's quality of life. In conclusion, I reiterate the importance of the news media for society in terms of security and the promotion of wellbeing.