Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same way as adults who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that criminals that are minor should undergo the same treatment as adult criminals and, this essay shares the same opinion with their argument. To begin with, there are some negative points in that argument. First and foremost, underage criminals might not fully understand the consequences of their crimes. To be specific, it is wrong to commit a crime in the first place but, there is a big difference between people committing a crime despite fully understanding the impact of crime and who do not. Underage criminals, considering their immature nature, are more likely, in the latter group. Moreover, It can be harsher punishment compared to adult criminals. To elaborate, younger criminals have more days to live after the punishment and, it would be difficult for them to be employed considering their formal convict status. However, there are also some positive points to the argument. Firstly, the age of criminals does not change the severity of crimes. There is a reason for the Justice system installed a statue with a blindfold. It represents the just system should be fair and equal. Secondly, it can be unfair to the victims of the crime. For instance, there would be a situation where people who lost their family member to a minor might have to watch the convict gets away with relatively weak punishment. In conclusion, there are some positives and negatives to the statement. Nevertheless, this essay argued that because of the fact that justice needs to be fair to all, youger criminals should be treated in the same way as adult criminals.