Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent traveling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A great deal of time is being wasted daily by spending time getting held in traffic jams or commuting. Some people are promoting the idea that green areas should be cut for the expansion of residential areas to accommodate people near their work places while others do not consider this idea as a perfect solution. Although this solution can reduce this wasted time significantly, I am completely in disagreement with it. The following essay will look at both views followed by my notion. On one hand, replacing green areas close to downtowns, where the business area of a city is usually located, by buildings can make dwellers' lifestyle better. For example, they can walk to those places, sleep more in the mornings, and spend the time they save on enjoying their lives, which all result in their physical and mental health. This usually means a less commuting time and a better usage of land in favour of its settlers. On the other hand, trees are playing an increasingly important role in clearing air pollution and decreasing noise pollution. For instance, in developed countries trees are being planted along highways to protect the neighbourhood from air and noise pollution. Consequently, bringing people closer to city centres might be preferable to keeping gardens, but it suffers from the disadvantages that lead to making city centres even more polluted. Therefore, green areas are essential parts of cities that should not be demolished. To conclude, the expansion of living areas in downtowns by cutting down trees can reduce commuting time. Even though the importance of being close to work offices should not be underestimated due to the subsequent improvement of humans lives, I believe that the destruction of green parks can not be a practical solution because it contributes to the decrease in air quality.