In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, an increasing number of young adults tend to have vocational training, while the others choose to pursue their higher education in universities. Obviously, people will gain more professional knowledge and specific training, as well as have an income while working for a company. However, one of the main disadvantages is that they might face difficulties in getting a promotion without a higher degree certificate from a university. In my opinion, young people having on-the-job training at work is still much more beneficial than learning in universities. The greatest benefit of enrolling in apprenticeships is that employers would provide young people with the most specific training to tick off their long-term careers. Without doubt, it is a significant opportunity for employees to gain the knowledge that will enhance their working skills effectively, without costing money. For instance, in China, medical students need to take at least 7 years of vocational training in order to become real doctors. Therefore, on-the-job training is the most significant process for young people to pursue their life-long careers. On the other hand, one of the most disadvantages of having work-based training instead of not pursuing higher education in university is that, young people will face obstacles when they are being promoted by companies. Some employers may choose to promote employees who have a higher educational background. For example, some research-based areas such as biological science and computer science, require employees have at least a PhD degree in educational background to ensure they have adequate research skills. For this reason, attending university become a must-have in some high-tech fields. In conclusion, young people are able to gain the most practical technique during on-the-job training, although there would be some challenges for them on the way to promotion at work. However, from a career point of view, I believe that the experiences of gaining professional knowledge from companies are more advantageous than disadvantageous.