Many countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a heated debate over the ever-growing food importation from foreign exporters in many countries. In my opinion, this is a negative development that can lead to environmental issues, harmful situations and problems later on in food consumption. One serious issue that can arise from imported food is that it can lead to ecological disturbance. Transporting those commodities among distant areas requires huge expenditures and fast-moving vehicles such as aeroplanes and ships to preserve the freshness when it comes to the market. Those means of transport burn a great volume of fossil fuels with unexpected results such as releasing a wave of greenhouse gas emissions or leaking oil into the ocean. Therefore, the environment quality, especially the air and water, can be adversely impaired. Another issue is that foreign products are spoiled during the long-distance journey. It means it should be picked sooner than ripening or exporters are using chemical substances for preserving them fresh. GMOs are potentially threatening health, causing genetic diseases. For example, in China, tomatoes are undergone chems to be very reddish and good-looking and then exported to other countries. That is why the nutritional potential, including vitamins and minerals, is low, moreover, purchases even have unnatural chemicals that are harmful to health. In conclusion, although the food importation overseas has become more popular for people to consume, it has brought about too many problems such as environmental disturbances, with tremendous consequences, decreased nutrition in the foods, then health issues. I consider this assumption to have a negative trend.