The use of mobile phones in public places is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places, so mobile phones should be banned in the same way. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, mobile phones have become the most commonly used gadgets in our daily life, which sometimes causes problems on some occasions. While some people argue that it is necessary to ban the use of mobiles phones, I believe people have the right to use phones wherever they want so long as they do not disturb other people. It is true that some of the features of mobile phones could be disturbing in particular events. People are usually not allowed to make phone calls or take photos at museum exhibitions, cinemas and conferences. These events require quietness and attention; disruption from ringtones or camera lights would distract the rest of audiences. In cinemas, for example, people get distracted if someone answers the phone. Therefore, it is reasonable to ban people from using certain functions of their phones during the event and require them to keep phones silent. On the other hand, it seems impossible to stop everyone from using their mobile phones during the entire event. People need to check their phones in case there are urgent messages or calls. Some people are still working while attending leisure activities, so they may need to check emails to stay connected to work. Banning phones can make them feel anxious and thus unable to enjoy the event. Furthermore, the drawbacks of using phones cannot be compared with those of smoking, as the latter does harm not only to smokers themselves but also to the people around them. In conclusion, it is impossible to completely ban the use of mobile phones but people must obey the rules of using phones in different places and events.