Some people believe that poverty is the reason behind most crimes. Do you agree or disagree?

Although there is no single reason behind crime, it is believed that poverty is one of the major contributors. As far as I am concerned, the impact of financial issues is paramount, but there are other factors, including an adverse influence of media and a poor family environment that should be taken into account, too. In this, essay I will elaborate on them in detail. In the litany of causes of offences, poverty is among the first -ranking ones. Taking into account the competitive job market, many people are left behind, thereby, being unable to meet their bare needs and foot the bills by working, turn to crime. According to the statistics, approximately 30% of all offences are committed due to financial pressure. Nevertheless, the financial unwellness is not the only incentive behind lawbreaking; there is a contribution of media as well. In other words, since criminals are presented as respected people, who possess a certain power over others, ordinary people, particularly teenagers, consider them as role models. So, they involve in illegal activities even if they live in more or less adequate conditions. Another equally strong motivation behind offending is family issues. Those who were born in dysfunctional families are usually exposed to abuse and assaults, but physically and emotionally, hence deem these behavioural patterns to be normal, repeating them in the future. Having made all the points, I am of the opinion that however severe the poverty's impact, there are other factors, such as media and family that are having an equally negative effect on the crime rate.