Some people think that professional athletes make good role models for young people, while others believe they don’t. Discuss both these points of views and give your own opinion

People have different views on the youth today idolizing athletes. While some assert that sportsmen inspire a lot of young minds for the better, others argue that they might not be the best people to look up to. In this essay, I will examine both perspectives and state my opinion. Firstly, athletes can inspire children to follow their passion. In other words, young people will be motivated to work hard and focus on achieving their goals. Furthermore, looking up to players can inculcate sportsmanship among teenagers at an early age. For instance, teens looking at their role models not winning every match or competition will help them see personal failures as learnings and teach them to never give up. In addition to this, it will help broaden career opportunities for the generations to come. For example, most parents push their wards to opt for conventional job roles such as engineers, doctors and lawyers. This will give them an opportunity to see the brighter side of sports as a profession. Sportsmen lead an extremely active and healthy lifestyle, this would encourage kids to avoid junk food and do exercise. On the other hand, following players may promote the use of substances among teens. For example, with more sports players getting caught using drugs or enhancers like steroids for better performance may result in inspiring teens to make unhealthy life choices. Moreover, this may also lead to children believing in taking shortcuts in the journey to becoming successful. To conclude, while idolizing athletes can have its demerits, I strongly believe the positive impact it has on young minds surpasses the negative influence. Drawing inspiration from the lives of sportsmen helps instil essential values and habits among the youth and helps build character.