In the interest of maintaining local culture, governments should support projects such as local film industries in order to offer alternatives to mass produced culture, such as Hollywood. How important is it to preserve traditional cultures in the face of globalization and in what ways can it be achieved? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Cultural heritage is central to protecting a sense of belonging. With increasing globalization, the government should support industries to offer alternatives to mass-produced culture as it is highly necessary to preserve traditions. Therefore in this essay, the significance of preserving traditional arts will be discussed as well as the different ways culture could be preserved. The importance of tradition and custom preservation is to encourage others to experience it. Although globalization is widespread and consuming, there are many people that still enjoy the customs and lifestyles of where they originated. It gives an irrefutable connection to the past – to certain social values and beliefs that enables identification with others and deepen the sense of unity and pride. For example, museums and ancient art exhibits showcase a wide range of these arts. Additionally, our forefathers passed the traditions down to newer generations so that they could not be forgotten. An approach that could be taken in order to prolong cultural heritage is by documenting and studying languages. Also, by joining local clubs and associations tied to a specific culture. Even though westernization is fast replacing as well as erasing so many ancient lifestyles, encouraging the use of indigenous rituals could also play a great role in transferring customs and beliefs. For instance, a weekly meeting could be held to discuss matters and appoint leaders of such organizations, after which ancient music and food can be used to entertain the crowd. In conclusion, the government should make resources available for the promotion of past lifestyles and arts. While globalization should be encouraged, restrictions should be enforced to avoid total neglect of individual origin