Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

The eating habits of people have changed drastically over the decade. However, whereas some committed vegetarians feel that this way of living is not just healthier but as well beneficial to the climate, I would argue that, while it is helpful, it should remain the person’s choice. To begin with, there is no denying that being a vegetarian or even a vegan is advantageous for the environment. This is simply because animals, cattle in particular, produce methane gas, which is released into the atmosphere and can be deadlier than carbon dioxide as this could possibly worsen global warming. In another word, a vegetarian diet reduces one’s carbon footprint and is much more environmentally friendly. For example, if people were to stop consuming meat or animal products, the level of methane gas in the environment would be relatively low. Nevertheless, my view is that the nutritional diet should be the sole choice of an individual. The reason for this is that the freedom of making the decision on their own gives them a sense of autonomy, which can be empowering. People are often naturally averse to doing things that seem imposed upon them despite the good cause it could bring about, and in turn, this may breed resentment towards their life. If, for instance, a man may not get used to eating cultured meat because of the taste and texture itself, his well-being will be affected for going against his principles and likely to curtail happiness. In conclusion, despite the tremendous benefits of being a vegetarian could bring to human lives and the environment, it is my firm belief that we should respect peoples’ freedom as long as they do not violate rules and regulations, also not discriminate against them for their choice of living.