Some people believe that university students should pay all the cost of studies because university education only benefits students themselves not the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a discussion about whether the cost of studying at college and university should be fully borne by students. From my personal perspective, tertiary education benefits both individuals and society as a whole, so I do not feel that its tuition fees should be paid by those receiving the education alone. There are two dimensions where we can easily observe the positive impacts that college students bring to society, with the first one being economics. While college graduates, as shown in many surveys, are highly likely to enjoy a better wage than school leavers, such an increase in their salary will then translate into more taxes paid to the local government as well as more disposable income expended in daily life for either daily necessities or entertainment. This means that individuals with a college degree can certainly contribute to tax revenues and sales in retailing sectors of society. In addition to these economic benefits of college education to society, an advanced collective capacity to adapt to changes is the second dimension that I think college graduates can help with. This is because by learning how to learn in university, they have become continuous learners and therefore are more capable of readapting themselves to the everchanging world, where the social and technological development of any nation must depend on a pool of such talents. That is to say, without a large number of university graduates, our society would suffer a lot when facing social and economic challenges. With the two points made above, it is clear that human being studying at educational institution do have significant benefits to community as a whole, so the proposal that education cost in this field should only be paid by individuals is unreasonable. I believe government funding should be part of the cost, and this can be in the form of a government-funded grants or special loan programs to support students financially, especially those from low socioeconomic backgrounds.