Some people believe the purpose of education is to make people useful to society. Others believe it is to prepare them to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The proportion of elderly people in the population is rising in many countries. I think this trend creates more problems than benefits for society. An aging population puts a heavy burden on the social welfare system. The more retired people there are in a society, the more claims are made for state pension. The government will have to increase funds for the state pension system, while reducing funds for other social programmes, including financial support for low-income families, unemployment benefits and student loans. A higher proportion of elderly people in the population is also likely to cause labour shortages resulting in lower productivity. Not only will this hinder economic growth, it will also cause labour costs to rise. To cover higher labour costs, companies will have to raise the prices of their products and services -- a burden that will be borne by consumers. It is true that an aging population may lead to a rising demand for healthcare workers and therefore may create job opportunities in healthcare-related fields such as nursing and pharmacy. However, compared with the negative impacts that population ageing would have on economic activities in other industries, the possible growth in healthcare-related jobs would seem insignificant. In conclusion, the rising population of senior citizens is a direct result of progress in health care and improvements in the standard of living, but I believe that the overall effects of population ageing on the social welfare system, the healthcare system and the economy are negative. The government should extend the retirement age to prevent serious labour shortage. Marriage and childbearing should also be encouraged.