Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Deciding to have a child has become an important decision for many couples. In my opinion, this is mostly due to the financial issue and lack of responsibility which is a double-edged sword with both benefits and drawbacks. However, I believe it is more beneficial. There are probably two main reasons that more and more people procrastinate the decision of having children. Firstly, increasing living expenses may cause fear that they cannot afford that. Children have many expenditures including basic needs such as food, clothes and education as well, while they are the population who cannot earn money and just spend it. Therefore, parents should pay for all their needs. If they do not have a proper income, they will not be able to do so and consequently, decide to have children later in their life. Secondly, the fear of responsibility is more common, nowadays. Being parents is not only about childbearing but also upbringing and if they are not prepared and well-educated themselves, they cannot raise a well-behaved child. Subsequently, they are fully responsible for their children. This trend seems to me to be more beneficial, although there is a downside as well. The only disadvantage could be the age gap between parents and children. If they decide to have a child later, they may be 35 or 40 years old than their children which makes it hard to understand them because they will belong to a totally different world. For example, an elderly now cannot adapt to the use of modern technology while his/her children, which are digital natives, are able to work with the latest one. On the other hand, people have better financial status when they are older and therefore, they can support their children better. There may be more educated and healthy children in the world in this way. On top of that, due to the maturity of older parents, the number of well-behaved children will be increased. To illustrate, mature educated parents are able to teach his /her children better than a young inexperienced the ones. In conclusion, in my view, the decision of having children later could be more advantageous for both parents and offspring which is mostly due to the economical issue and responsibility.