Holding international games such as the olympic games is an exciting event.Some people think it has positive effects while others argue it is a waste of money.Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

The Olympic Games commonly known as the Olympics is one of the most anticipated sports events in the world. It stirs up great interest in masses across the world. Although some people think that it is just a waste of resources, it is considered highly beneficial to others. This essay will discuss both views and I will give my opinion afterwards. The Olympics is an international athletic competition featuring multiple sporting events between athletes representing their nation. It is very expensive to organize and maintain and therefore some people do not regard it. For instance, organizations such as the International Federation spend a fortune to put together the event which is held twice a year every four years. As a result, these individuals think that resources that could be used to alleviate poverty and support developing countries are being squandered. However, the games provide a lot of advantages such as entertainment. For example, so many sportspersons from around the world participate in the event and so viewers and spectators come into the fold to enjoy such and they pay for tickets to enter the area. Additionally, the sports generate revenue for the host country and it also encourages the athletes and trainers to be healthy and keep fit in order to partake in the competitions. To summarize, huge international competitions such as the Olympics which require heavy expenditure also possess so many great benefits. I believe that the public should spend their money on what gives them pleasure. However, organizations should consider putting measures in place to budget the amount spent hosting such event