In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Older people go to stay in old homes where nurses take care of them in Britain. There are instances when government bear the cost. Hence, many people believe that the family should pay the cost whereas many think otherwise. I personally believe that government only should take the burden for this care owing it is a basic right of any human being,especially in old age. Moreover, medical care is getting costlier day by day. To begin with, many human right organisations has observed health care as a basic human right. Hence authority should pay for it so that no one dies without proper care. For example, In India Supreme court has recognised getting medical treatment as a basic right and has asked the state to make new regulations so that everyone can afford the care they deserved. In addition, health care is becoming costlier that many people find difficult to pay. For Instance, In many countries where medical treatment is private, people have to pay a large amount for Insurance just to cover their basic needs. Moreover, because elders can not really work for long hours to cover their treatments which get expensive in old age. Hence, they find it challenging to cover themselves. Furthermore, families already pay a good amount of tax at a young age. Thus, in return governments should take care of their basic necessities in old age. In conclusion, I am ultimately inclined to believe that government should take of their citizens in old age and provide the best medical facilities because it is a basic need of any human being. Moreover, the health system is becoming costlier now a days and unbearable for families and the old population themselves.