These days, too many people maintain their health by relying on doctors and medicine, rather than by following a healthy lifestyle. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For years, having a healthy lifestyle had been viewed as the best way of staying away from ailments, but recently people prefer to put responsibilities on medicine and doctors ' shoulders rather than changing their lifestyles. It is widely accepted that medicine is playing an increasingly important role in remaining public health; however, I am convinced that a healthy lifestyle is the integral pillar of health that should not be underestimated. The following essay will look at two rationales explaining why doctors and medicine can not substitute it. Firstly, almost all man-made inventions have their negative effects and medications are not excluded. For example, diabetes is a medical condition that can be controlled by having a healthy diet and a regular physical exercise while most of diabetic patients rather taking pills, which have several side effects that gradually can contribute to their bodies organs defect. Consequently, a healthy lifestyle can be the safest treatment for many medical conditions. Moreover, prevention is always better than treatment. The role of human diet and exercise in preventing several medical conditions has been proven. For instance, a normal body mass index along wih strong tight muscles are the most important factors that protect knees from destruction, which the majority of elderlies are being disabled by even after several surgeries. Therefore, the healthy lifestyle can prevent conditions that medicine has not been able to compete. To sum up, nowadays, relying on doctors and medicine to take care of public health is preferable to bear the difficulties of moving toward healthy habits. Nevertheless, the side effects of medicines and the failure of doctors to cure many conditions can highlight the importance of the healthy lifestyle.