Some people believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Foreign language studies are a typical component of curriculums the world over. However, the exact age at which students should be introduced to a second language is often debated. Whether first taught at primary school or secondary the merits and demerits can be identified. This essay will analyse these items to prove one age group is better than the other at which to begin foreign language studies. Firstly, introducing a new language to primary students has several advantages over delaying it until secondary. For one, as evidenced in several scientific studies, young minds are much more capable of acquiring an accent, a truth that enables young people to reproduce language at a quality comparable to that of a native speaker. In addition, heightened memories can make young ones more capable of learning massive amounts of the vocabulary of a second language, accelerating language acquisition. Thus, teaching a second language at primary school has certain undeniable benefits. Despite these advantages, there are potential drawbacks to introducing a foreign language at lower grades. If the language component of the curriculum is not sensitive to local customs and traditions, it can interfere with young learners' understanding of their own culture, a challenge not apparent among more mature students. However, although it is a serious concern, educational authorities within the country have the power to review and vet content to curb cultural erosion. Further, delaying the introduction of a foreign language limits the worldly understanding of the dynamics of an outside culture. Therefore, after analysis, the disadvantage for primary children is not as discouraging as it seemed at first. In conclusion, the above discussion makes it clear that, despite select disadvantages, language learning is more effective if presented in primary than secondary school. I thus hope governments across the globe encourage the introduction of foreign languages in the early years.