Many university students nowadays live away from their home and their parents because of their university location, while other live with their families. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each situation.

Currently, the location of the universities and their drawbacks and benefits are widely debated. There are numerous advantages and setbacks of living away from a house unit as a pupil. This essay will explore both notions in greater details. On the one hand, higher education is experienced only once in a lifetime and it brings several benefits to students. It is a place where adolescents have to grow and take more responsibility. Living away from their home allows this. To illustrate, students are on their own and they have to learn how to handle and overcome challenges. For instance, living in a dorm requires doing chores, cooking, cleaning, etc. Besides, following the schedule of courses are students ' responsibility. Before college, students followed the rules of educational institutions and their parents were involved much more. However, college is all about freedom that a young person has to face the consequences of their own actions. This paves the way for them to grow and shapes their identity. On the other hand, living away from your loved ones can contribute to significant problems such as isolation and depression. Adapting to a new environment is already difficult and if your family is not around, this can be a lot more challenging and cause struggles. For example, a friend of mine went to study abroad. Interestingly, in the beginning, she felt more free and enjoyed her days. After a while, she started to feel depressed since she had no close friends and isolated herself. This not only affected her mental health, but also affected her academic success. She even participated less in her courses, leading downfall in her midterms and finals. In conclusion, living away from your home for university has both positive and negative effects. While it can foster growth and experiencing life as an individual, it can also cause significant issues such as mental health problems.