Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Increasing crime rates is a global pervasive problem. Some individuals believe that lengthy incarceration is the best way to decrease criminality, whereas others would argue that alternative ways must be considered to tackle this matter. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and explain why I support the former Severe punishment, such as longer sentences is commonly perceived as the best way to deter illegal activities in society. However, it is already proven that this movement does not discourage individuals who wish to be involved in mugging, murder, and other crimes. In fact, convicted people who are detained for more than five years are most likely to do recidivism. It is provided that in a cell, inmates tend to be desensitized by being exposed to a conversation about how other cellmates did their inhumane cases. Thus, leading to massive growth in crimes. Considering some alternative ways like rehabilitation and intervention can lead to a significant and desirable outcome. In this method, specialists can study the emotional aspect of each offender and analyze the appropriate responses and programs for them. They can identify the reasons behind the actions of the murderers, rapists, and robbers, and in most cases, mental problems and poverty force these people to be associated with crimes. Rigorous observation and research are what the criminal justice sector needs in order to lessen criminality. In conclusion, lengthy prison sentences as a solution to the problem is a false argument. Therefore, research and intervention are far relevant and must be considered. After all, uprooting the problem is the best way to prevent exacerbation.