As a part of education, students should spend a period of time spending and living in a different country to learn language and culture. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that students should study and live abroad in order to gain language and cultural experience. I completely disagree with this idea that we should therefore force every student to go abroad for a while. In my opinion, the idea that all students should spend some time abroad is impractical. The amount of tuition fees of studying abroad is a huge budget compared to attending a local institution, not to mention the living expenses, especially in developed countries. Not only is this impossible for each household to afford this large amount of money, but also brings a huge financial burden to government if it’s compulsory. Since not every student would apply this language or cultural experience to their work after then, this kind of activity could be treated as a waste of time and money. More importantly, force all the students to spend a short period time overseas is unnecessary. It’s true that not every student is keen on foreign language and culture, so not all of them are willing to receive education of another system. Commonly, the majority of students have negative emotions after studying abroad for a while, like homesick, loneliness and culture shock. Moreover, it is undeniable that there might be some security and discrimination problems for students to suffer if they have to be abroad for a period. According to a report by Ministry of Education of China, there are more than 70% students claiming that they experienced racism while pursuing their degrees overseas. In conclusion, spending a period of time on studying or living abroad might seem like a good idea. I believe that this point of view is a totally wrong strategy because of its lack of practice and necessity.