In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantage of driverless vehicles outweight disadvantages?

There would be only autonomous cars on the road with no human drivers needed anymore one day. I think this trend brings more advantageous developments because driverless vehicles could provide people with safety and efficiency. It is undeniable that automobiles controlled by machines are safer compared to those by human drivers. There are thousands of car accidents happened around the world each day because of drivers’ mistakes, like naps, intoxication and distraction. Nevertheless, with more computer-driven cars on the road, the number of accidents is going to decrease dramatically because the robotic system is more trustworthy without making human errors. According to a report from Tesla autonomous engineering team, about 1/3 of victims were hit by a car while the driver was using their mobile phones and ignoring the traffic on the road, and this proportion is increasing steadily every year. This is only one merit if autonomous cars could dominate the road in the future. Moreover, robotic vehicles would improve individuals' efficiency by giving more time for other activities rather than driving. If there would be no drivers, passengers could use this part of the time to earn more money or socialize with others, like having a work meeting freely without worrying about traffic. Meanwhile, those autonomous vehicles could even run errands for their owners independently so that people could spend more time accompanying their families or enjoying their lives. The same article as previously mentioned, it refers that owners of vehicles with Tesla autopilot system could spend less than five hundred hours driving a year. In summary, people would benefit from computer-driven cars’ because they are safeguarding and assist owners to live better lives. It’s definitely these are advantageous for the millions of motorists and pedestrians across the globe.