Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, think there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some citizens claim that long imprisonment is the most effective crime deterrent; some believe that governments can take better measures. In my opinion, although imposing a long-term jail punishment can deter wrongdoing, we have some wiser methods. On the one hand, imprisoning criminals longer can reduce the crime rate. Offenders penalized with long imprisonment will be cut off from society, so they have little chance to stay with their families and cannot acquire up-to-date knowledge and practical skills. What is caused by longtime prison life will deter all potential criminals; they have to weigh the benefits brought by lawbreaking against serious consequences if polices catch them. Then, some people who are prone to breaking laws will give up because they fear the stiff punishment that they have to stay in prison a long time. On the other hand, there are some better ways to prevent felonies. Firstly, governments should improve the life level of the whole society and create more job opportunities for the poor crowd. Many offenders break laws because they hardly make their lives and they cannot find a formal job. In order to live, they have to commit an offence. Secondly, the media content should be imposed stringent regulations. Many people, especially juveniles, engage in criminal activities just for imitating the programs acted by a famous celebrity. In conclusion, my view is that, although imposing a long-term jail punishment can deter offences, poverty is the most concrete reason, for example, in a country where economic deprivation is common for citizens to engage in illegal acts. If governments only raise the length of the prison sentence, there are still many people who are in serious adversity who choose to take the risk of rob. Therefore, boosting the economy is a revolutionary and best method to decrease the crime rate.