Many developed countries now have large numbers of people over the age of 65. What problems might this cause? How can the problems be solved?

Nowadays, a trend of reduced younger population is seen in the first world countries. Owing to this, the society there therefore, comprises of adults at the age over 65. In this essay, I will delve deeper into the problems caused by the same and the solutions which might help mitigate the issue at hand. To begin with, there are a lot of hindrances one faces when he/she grows old. The majority being incapable of taking care of oneself. For the same reason, youth is required to take care of the old in form of doctors, nurses, social-care workers. Due to the lack of the young professionals in developed countries in the above mentioned fields, hiring full time nurses have become extremely expensive and therefore the elder have to manage by themselves in unhealthy conditions. To exemplify further, a study in the US suggested that the deaths of the older generation could be postponed if they were provided with better healthcare facilities. Furthermore, the aged-group becomes a liability on a country’s economy. In addition, the skill set possessed by them have already become outdated and they have lost the agility of minds. Also, a lot many jobs can’t be performed by them as the physical strength is lost. For example, they can’t function as delivery executives. Overall, they turn into an economic burden. To illustrate, in Finland due to shortage of young blood, their industry had to suffer huge losses. On the brighter side, there are several different solutions one can offer. Firstly, the government of rich countries can develop flexible immigration laws. Furthemore, there is a workforce of skilled laborers waiting to be given an opportunity to work abroad. However, due to stringent rules many fail to reach their apt destination. To site a clear example, the ban on H1N visa incurred US a huge loss on finances, particularly in healthcare industry as the talented from developing countries migrated to other nations. Secondly, the brains can be kept intact of the older generation by conducting educational seminars in their respective areas both offline and online. In addition, computer skills should classed as a mandatory skill for all age groups. This not only would keep the oldies busy but also account for financial gains. For e.g. in China, the ruling party has a policy for people above 55 which includes a list of jobs namely banking, teaching, crafting etc in which they have to engage to make sure they are stable wealth-wise. To conclude, I would concur with the fact that geriatric crowd can be a problem at times although re-directing them towards proper solutions with right laws can aid in overcoming such road bumps.