Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Other believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Careful consideration must be given to whether or not elective subjects should be added to several universities’ curriculums. The writer of this essay contends that it is more beneficial for students due to providing practical skills and relaxation rather than completely focusing on achieving a degree. To commence with, interventing other subjects to curricula helps students gain more social skills. In other words, students are able to learn several skills for communication, teamwork or dealing with problems which are necessary for their future careers. As a result, these kinds of students will become holistic, having more benefits in applying for jobs. Some people, however, believe that altogether concentrating on studying for degrees gives students flying colours in their fields. To be more specific, because students are not disturbed by any other subjects, individuals make more efforts and attempts in their fields, leading to acquiring higher scores. Take, for example, Vietnam, where 27% of seniors in 2018 just pursuited to 4.0 GPA in Maths because it could influence the levels of their degrees. From the writer’s perspective, the comfort of learning is one of the benefits of adding other subjects. It must be recognised that since main subjects always make students stressed and overwhelmed in their studies, learning elective subjects is a good way for them to relax with many recreational activities. For instance, in 2020, Havard University allowed their sophomore to choose types of sports to study and these permissions also helped 75% of them unwind after the 5-hour studying natural science. Thus, even though paying all attention to study for qualifications assists university students obtain high scores, the provision of soft skills and rest in learning more other subjects are aspects that should be given more consideration. Hence, bonusing elective fields is more effective in educational curriculums.