Many management interviews are based around assessing not only a person’s level of experience and knowledge but also their personality. Is leadership an innate skill? What other characteristics do companies look for in a manager?

Nowadays, many companies hiring managers look for certain skills which outline their character, rather than their level of knowledge and experience. One of these important skills is leadership which some people argue to be an inborn skill. This essay will also talk about how other characteristics like Ownership, Proactiveness & Flexibility are also sought after in a managerial role for the betterment of the company. Leadership is an imperative and rare skill that every business or company seek in their workplace. Many people think that this skill is something you are born with and these lucky ones are the ones who become true leaders. However, I believe no person is a born leader, and the trait of leadership is something you learn and ingrain within yourself in the process of learning and developing. If a person develops a nack to lead in simple tasks in life, leadership traits are built in the process. For example, In school, a teacher may ask the students to give their thoughts on a subject they are about to study, most students will shy off thinking that they might say something stupid, however there will few students in the same class who will put across their thoughts irrespective of the banter they may face outlines a leader. On the other hand, apart from leadership, companies also look out for traits like ownership, proactiveness and flexibility when hiring for a managerial role. The person leading the team takes full ownership of the team and is responsible for the team's future success and failure. Proactiveness is an important trait that shows the manager's eagerness and willingness to learn, develop and implement new things without any push, which will aid the company. Moreover, in a dynamic and competitive business world, flexibility is something every manager should possess, as it helps him or her to adjust to any corporate environment with ease. To conclude, to be successful in a corporate environment, managers must possess leadership, ownership, proactiveness and flexibility traits as these are what management interviews are seeking, and all of these can be learned in the trade.