Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people are of the opinion that the extinction of some species of plants and animals is a major environmental problem. However, some others are opposed to this idea, claiming that there are many reasons for environmental problems. From my perspective, the loss of wildlife is the most serious threat to the environment. I will further elaborate in this essay. In recent decades, the loss of some animals and plants have definitely affected the Earth’s ecosystem. Many forests are being reduced to make cattle farms and houses. Moreover, when animals and plants are extremely decreased, they will break the food chain. For instance, if predatory animals like tigers at the top disappear, the number of herbivores will be uncontrollable. If this situation persists, it will lead to food scarcity all over the world. On the other hand, climate change is one of the big challenges. This problem is caused by many factories and agricultural activities such as air pollution, water pollution. In addition, deforestation, global warming, overpopulation and pollution are a few of the major causes of loss of particular species of animals and plants. For example, polar bears have become an endangered species and it is predicted that by 2100 they will be entirely extinct in the wild. When people kill certain species, they are contributing to climate change indirectly. However, this environmental argument oversimplified the issue. Because of the loss of particular species of plants and animals, it leads to climate change. Therefore, more and more animals and plants species are becoming extinct, and it affects climate change on ecosystems and biological diversity. In my opinion, the most important issue is the loss of some plants and animals. In conclusion, although there are many reasons that impact environmental problems, the extinction of wildlife and the loss of biodiversity is the most certainly a concern. I strongly feel that maintaining and protecting species of animals and plants are the basic necessities and important.