In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It has been argued that marketing campaigns these days are more inclined to focus on the novelties that their products bring to their customers. The purpose of this essay is to discuss why I believe such a tendency is occurring and whether this advancement is beneficial or not. There are two reasons behind this phenomenon. The main one is the fact that companies have much more competition to deal with. As organizations have increased their range of products, organizations need to be able to differentiate their products on the market. A second point is that it seems that everything we need has already been invented; hence, products that provide new features might be well received by customers. A good illustration of this is companies who hire influencers to give real feedback on their products using their social media, as a way to show the effectiveness of the novelty of a product. Moreover, I am of the opinion that this way to advertise is beneficial. This is because clients will be more aware of the differences among products without having to go through all products and look for the latest updates, as they might have been particularly highlighted during the adverts. Additionally, giving more attention to what is new about a product can be seen as a strategic way to target a particular market. Taking me as an example, I have recently bought a shoe that was advertised mainly focusing on those who suffer from back pain, since the shoes have some kind of elevation whose objective is to alleviate the spine pressure. In conclusion, there are many reasons why business advertisements are on the novelties of a product, as companies get the attention of clients in such a competitive world and make their product stand out. Considering the pros and cons of such behaviour, my opinion is that the advantages in terms of showing clients the innovation and targeting specific sectors are definitely worth it. Given this, it seems that companies should follow more of such a strategy as it beneficiate both companies and customers.