Plastic bags, plastic bottles, and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by the governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Plastic is a non-biodegradable substance and is very harmful to our environment.There are many long term effects of plastic on the environment and of course on humans that I will discuss in the following paragraphs. And also, I will try to suggest something that can be done by the government and people to prevent the nature. First, let's talk about the damages caused by plastic products to our mother nature.As already discussed, plastic needs thousands of years to decompose in the soil and thus contaminate the soil, making it unfit for agricultural purposes. Furthermore, thousands of plastic bottles,packages and plastic bags can be seen floating in the earth's water bodies and are responsible for the death of marine animals when accidentally eaten by them. In this way, this plastic also enters the food chain and human food resulting in incurable diseases like cancer the human body. To illustrate, a few months ago a goods container sank in the pacific ocean and goods were packed in plastic bags. Due to this many fish and other creatures were found dead on the surface of the ocean and hence disturbing the food chain and nature. However, there are many ways in which damage caused by plastic to the environment can be prevented. This problem is best mitigated by governmental actions. The state should ban the use of plastic in packaging, water bottles and of course plastic bags.One should also take an oath not to use products made of plastics. For example, using bamboo toothbrushes, comb, toys wooden containers and paper bags. Because it is estimated that in one year a person produces one hundred tonnes of plastic through household items.Another real-world example of action taken by the government is 'Himachal Pradesh' a province in India that had banned the use of plastic bags for the last twenty years in order to protect the beautiful nature. In conclusion, if the government and every citizen swear not to use the products made of plastic, then soon our mother earth will be protected from this dangerous plastic.