Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

In this day and age, freshwater scarcity has become one of the most burning issues due to the rising demand for it. There is a myriad of causes behind this increasing tendency, which can be addressed by numerous radical solutions of both individuals and society. When it comes to the major culprits for these problems, population explosion, as well as prolonged droughts, may be considered to pose a serious threat to freshwater scarcity. First and foremost, due to the overpopulation in many areas around the world, the current amount of drinkable water can not meet the demands of a huge number of inhabitants if they continue overusing and misusing it for long terms. Besides, the shortage of salt-free water may be attributable to some problems for people because it is considered to cause persistent droughts for a long period of time, which is thought to stem from climate change as well as detrimental human activities. For example, not only does it put individuals at higher risk of contracting hazardous diseases like cancer when consuming contaminated water but it hinders many countries from developing thrivingly. In these circumstances, some practical actions should be taken with a view to alleviating the aforementioned issue. To begin with, citizens should endeavour to protect the natural environment in tandem with raising their awareness about the indispensable importance of usable water so that they can utilize water effectively. In addition, the local authorities had better allocate more funds to the maintenance of water reservation systems as well as the construction of the new ones in order that inhabitants can have sufficient water during a myriad of adverse situations. In conclusion, the shortage of freshwater is believed to derive from a tremendous increase in the population along with prolonged droughts. As a result, several measures need to be done to mitigate its cumulative effects.