With increasing population and ever-growing urban centres, many countries are losing their natural beauty spots. What benefits are there to protecting places of natural beauty? How can this be solved?

In the last decades, the urbanization of many cities of the world has become prevalent, destroying rural areas full of natural beauty. In this essay, I will highlight some of the principal advantages of preserving them as well suggesting solutions to solve this issue. One of the first reasons why we should preserve the eco-system of unique places is to ensure future generations a better place to live. In other words, ensuring biodiversity allows for better air quality, reducing the level of pollution, which will be reflected in the blue planet’s health. In addition, with over-population and the increasing number of industrialized areas, it has been observed an ever-growing number of heart diseases (such as strokes) as well as a growth in the cases of cancers. Research shows that the more an area has been impoverished by industrialization, the more will be the number of deaths. Another benefit that needs to be considered is that protecting places of natural beauty is expected to combat climate change, due to the reduction of carbon emissions. In fact, one of the consequences of ensuring the survival of wild spots is decreasing the CO2 levels, with a substantial effect on the greenhouse effect. By doing this, the population will have a reduction in the cost of living, with a substantial fall in energy costs. To address this problem, one solution will be to promote education campaigns that encourage companies as well as factories about the importance of having an eco-friendly attitude. Furthermore, by protecting those places, it will also be an effect on agriculture, because of the preservation of arboreal species, which will have a great impact on the environment. Finally, it will be a reduction in CO2 levels and an improvement in the air quality we breathe.