In many countries today crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

It's undoubtedly that more and more people focus on crime novels and TV crimes drams has brought numerous controversies and drawn much attention from the public. In this essay, I am going to examine potential explanations for this preference and give my own opinion about those genres. Some people argue that the main motive for the success of crime and drama books can be justified by human's natural attraction to disasters or shocking events. On top of that, I would go as far as to say the rationale is also related to the fact that they simply feel more realistic compared to other fictional styles. The fact that those types build their plot around human relationships, betrayals and tragic events make them more credible. Wouldn't anyone agree that the House of Cards series feels like real life? In addition, those styles are known to be unpredictable. Thus they keep spectators engaged by forcing them to anticipate what is going to happen next or even try to solve the mystery by themselves. On the other hand, action and comedy are much more predictable. For instance, when watching a 007 movie, we all know how it is going to end. James Bond will kill the villain and rescue the beautiful lady. Although that kind of fiction can certainly provide entertainment it does not last much longer after the exhibition. My personal opinion on those kinds of books and TV films is that they provide long-lasting enjoyment and can be a topic for discussions with friends which is certainly a bonus. Everyone likes to provide their take on possible endings or who was the real villain in history. In conclusion, never should we neglect what we have discussed above. I firmly hold the view that a credible plot and unpredictability are the main motives why those genres are preferred by the majority of people.