The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that more physical education lessons in the school curriculum will help combat overweight problems in most communities. In my opinion, this approach / move will help create a nation of health-conscious society. This, in turn, will reduce the burden on the government to contribute to the health sector. Instead, it can use those resources in areas like schooling and employment. First and foremost, children are more likely to follow what is taught in the classroom. So, if there are more physical training lessons, they will readily learn about ways to keep them fit and healthy. By giving extra importance to physical learning, teachers can inculcate in children the habit of following a healthy lifestyle from the start. In addition, nowadays in many families, both the husband and the wife work and hence they do not have time to monitor the eating habits of their children. In such situations, if the child is well-informed he can help himself to decide when to eat what. Also, a habit that is developed during younger stages in life is more likely to stay with them throughout their life. A well-informed person will not only follow a healthy routine himself but will also motivate the folks around him. Finally, overweight problems, if not controlled, lead to obesity and combating obesity is a tough task. It not only requires individual efforts but also medications. This increases the burden on the government to invest in a situation that could have stopped earlier. Worse still, it blocks funds that could have been used in more critical areas like poverty. In conclusion, knowledge gained and habits formed during school years may have a lasting impact on adulthood. I believe imparting physical education at the right age will create awareness to eat right and fight overweight issues. If education authorities direct efforts towards fitness from primary grades it may reduce government spending in the health care sector.