In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

There is currently a contiguous issue related to whether the government should increase the tax on junk food to deal with the problems it causes. I personally agree with this opinion as it is obligatory to deal with the detrimental effects of eating fast food. There are abundant factors to support my viewpoint. Firstly, eating too much oily and spicy food leads to an unhealthy lifestyle which has negative ramifications on humans. This is because, eating such type of food is the root cause of chronic diseases like heart attack, high blood pressure and obesity. For example, a person who consumes mostly outside food would definitely be overweight and unhealthy compared to a person eating a healthy meal. Moreover, street foods are trending because they are less expensive and easily accessible, as nowadays there are shops in every plaza for these types of cuisines which forces individuals to buy because of their contemporary lifestyle. To avoid the above-mentioned problems caused by eating the unhealthy and unhygienic foodstuff, certain measures should be taken. One of them is to impose a high amount of taxes on the street and junk foods which can discourage people to spend too much on unhealthy snacks. Additionally, the government should arrange campaigns to create awareness, especially among the young ones, because most young people love to eat this type of food. For example, a survey conducted in the USA indicates that schools, where junk food is more expensive than salads, have low sales. Therefore, students prefer to eat green vegetables and fruits. In conclusion, it is true that consuming unhealthy food has detrimental effects on people's health and fitness. People prefer to buy such food because they are cost-effective and easily accessible. Having a higher rate by legal authorities on such foods will definitely reduce consumption and encourages people toward a healthy lifestyle.