A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. What extent do you agree.

Due to an increment in crime rates, people believe that government should spend more money on the security of people in the country instead of on social progress. In this essay, I will discuss my notes on this concern and provide my extent of agreement. Firstly, there is no doubt that crime zone has spread widely around the world. Hence, in that case, it has become vital for the government to provide safety to the population with new technologies and programmes. For example - putting CCTV cameras around bus stops, banks and other public areas provide a bit of relief to the public in case of any mishappening because somewhere these devices help a lot to catch the traitor. Moreover, employing more soldiers on borderlines and keeping more police patrolling in cities during the night times keeps a danger zone away which also helps people to function smoothly. Secondly, on other hand, social profits such as education, health sector and employment can not be neglected as compared to security. It has been said that unemployment is the cause of poverty which enables people to get an education. Hence, the young generation gets forced to commit crimes such as drug selling, murder, theft and so on. However, this can be controlled if free education can be provided to all people. To summarise, It is undeniable that safety acquires the first place but social developments can not be overlooked in any instance. So I believe, money should be spent on a balancing beam to keep all areas progressive.