Young people today spend too much money and time following fashion trends (clothing, tech). What is the reason? Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, it is common to see young people squander their time and money on keeping up with the latest trends, including buying flashy clothing and gadgets. From my perspective, the desire for self-expression is the root cause and this trend brings a number of negative consequences. Due to the development of society, people are now living in a world full of convenience and wealth. The internet and social media have also been developing rapidly and have exposed people, particularly the youth, to large amounts of images of those with desirable and lavish lifestyles. Both of these factors contribute to the fact that many young individuals tend to overspend on luxurious items, such as fashionable clothes and high-end tech gadgets, to show off their wealth to others. Many young people also spend too much of their time trying to keep up with the latest fashion trends. In the long run, this can have adverse effects, not only on young people, but also on society as a whole. Following the fashion trends may drive young people to overspend; many might even be pushed to the edge of bankruptcy if they continue to waste their hard-earned money. Things can become worse financially, especially when unexpected incidents occur, such as accidents, or when the need arises to pay tuition fees. On a social level, should more money be spent on luxurious goods, the need for common products will dwindle, causing a reduction of sales of common goods which may eventually affect local businesses and economies. In conclusion, many young people tend to misspend their money to keep up with the newest trends in the world of fashion. While many do it in order to boast about their wealth, this can have several negative consequences in my opinion.