Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

There is no denying the fact that cutting-edge technology is ubiquitous across the globe due to its paramount importance. One school of thought opines that installing copyright songs and books conveniently is worth it, whilst others disagree and consider that a couple of problems also occur because of the same. Although this has a plethora of merits, there are also numerous demerits which will be elaborate in upcoming paragraphs. Initiating with the best possible benefits, the most significant advantage is people can listen to copyright artists and read novels easily with the help of advanced technology. In other words, latest technology has developed a lot of applications through which music and books can be installed and enjoyed for free of cost at a touch of a button. For instance, a web developer introduced the world to Spotify in which humans can download millions of songs from all over the world at any time from the internet. On its paradoxical side, there are many drawbacks as well. First and foremost, if people download songs and books from the internet for free, it will affect the artist's and author's main source of income. To put it simply, downloading music and books from the internet for free instead of buying albums, casette cassettes and books from shop can cause financial damage to them. As a result, this can demotivate them. Moreover, their mental health could also be affected by such adverse ramifications. To conclude, without any doubts, this is a mixed bag. Given that this topic has many pros, the cons of this notion may not be underestimated.