Some people think that employers should not be concerned about how employees dress at work, but the quality of work only. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that companies should prioritise quality production over the clothes their employees choose to wear. In my opinion, although one’s choice of clothing at work without a dress code can be problematic at some point, this does not entirely negatively impact their performance. To begin with, it is important to acknowledge that the proper workplace attire of personnel is reflective of their character and professionalism towards work. With regards to the former, there is a particular code for how to dress appropriately in most cultures. If, for instance, we see a man wearing an expensive suit and carrying a briefcase, we can make a fair guess that he is steeped in business culture. This is directly linked to the latter, such attire provides a professional visual image to clients which can create a long-lasting impression. In contrast, if the man was in his casual apparel for a meeting, this would breed unpleasant feelings in clients and may resulted failure to build business relationships as a whole. Nevertheless, there is often a misconception about a person’s outer appearance to their competencies at work because dressing sense should be the sole choice of an employee, so long as appropriate conditions are put in place. The reason is that people are naturally averse to doing things that are imposed upon them especially not at their will, and in turn, this could possibly lead to poor quality tasks, negatively affecting both the company’s marginal profit gains and the employees themselves. If an employer provides their workforce with some freedom for casual dressing on occasional days or makes special occasions mandatory for them to dress smartly, this is more likely to produce feelings of self-worth and satisfaction, contributing to better work. In conclusion, although wearing appropriately in a workplace brings good impressions not only to employees but also to the company itself, it is my firm belief that dress code with boundaries can promote better work.