Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued whether we are more independent or dependent on such a modern world. While it is true that we now cannot live without others in some aspects, I believe that we are living a more independent life. There could be two main reasons for the argument in favour of dependent life. First, with the development of industry, people mostly focus on a specific field, which means that without others’ efforts, the necessary products or the entertainment equipment, such as food, clothes and smartphone, cannot be attained. Besides that, the services also prove the connection between the supplier and the consumer. For example, shopping online is a usual consumption convention for most modern people, especially for young adults. It is others that deliver the consumption to the consumers. In modern society, living without others’ contributions seems to be unrealistic. On the other hand, advanced technologies provide opportunities for citizens to avoid communicating face to face. Activities that had to be completed in person can be finished through the Internet. For instance, more person prefers to buy their needs online since it is more convenient, more redundant and cheaper. In the meantime, learning online has become an ordinary way for most students to access education. In this way, it is more flexible to absorb knowledge, particularly for the adults who have jobs during the day. When it comes to career, independence seems to be more obvious. In some companies, employees are not required to work on seats. The communication between colleagues is less than before, and the contact between the staff and their managers is fewer as well. In conclusion, although we live to rely on others’ efforts to some extent, I believe that we are more independent than we were used to being.