These days, more and more people move away from the area where they were born and brought up when they become adults. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is stated that an increasing number of young people today choose to stay away from their homes. In this essay, we will examine the advantages and the disadvantages and state a logical conclusion. Firstly, living independently as adults makes people gain major life skills and understand decision making, which otherwise would be difficult to attain with the comfort of a protective family and home. In other words, youngsters living all by themselves have to make frequent financial and life decisions as a result of which they grow to become wiser adults. In addition, living alone brings a sense of freedom to the youth to explore and be intrigued with different aspects of life. For example, paying for the rent, deposits and groceries out of their paycheck teaches them to be frugal and not splurge on unimportant items. On the other hand, living independently can result in mental health issues such as anxiety and depression which usually stems from loneliness and excess work stress. Furthermore, with no one to discipline them, young people might end up making unhealthy life choices without analysing the consequences prior. For instance, an adult living alone is more prone to insomnia and sleep deprivation due to neglecting their sleep cycle, in turn making them less efficient individuals. To conclude, while living away from your loved ones has its demerits, I believe that settling away from your homeland can inculcate essential life skills and values, and hence, consider it to be more advantageous to for an individual.