Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that speaking a foreign language while living overseas can lead to fatal social unrest as well as practical problems. I completely agree with this statement because this may lead to misunderstanding and native people can exploit the foreigners. First of all,speaking a foreign language may cause social problems in terms of misunderstanding. This is because while living overseas we do not have a complete grasp of the foreign language. Even after learning through attending classes and reading books, it takes a time to develop the skill of a new language. The most salient example of this is my friend's trip to South Korea. Before visiting a restaurant for dinner he had learned a few words of the Korean language and tried to recite them, at the time of giving the order he had mentioned to the waiter to bring a vegetarian dish for him. However, the waiter misinterpreted the dialect and brought the chicken instead, this had brought a conflict between him and the restaurant people. If he had not used the improper Korean language, he would not have been involved in a fight. Therefore, speaking a foreign language abroad sometimes gives an invitation to social conflict. Another reason to consider is that it may lead to exploitation by the native people of the foreign land. To elaborate, such a pragmatic problem arises the moment visitors start speaking a foreign language, the citizens of foreign land intercepts immediately that person as a tourist or outsider. As a result, sometimes scammers take advantage of non-native residents. To illustrate, a recent study by the Paris Institute of transportation concluded that the majority of international students from Arabian countries got scammed by the taxi drivers on their arrival in Paris. Thus, speaking an international language can cause encounters with swindlers. In conclusion, I strongly believe that speaking an international language while staying overseas may cause pragmatic problems and social issues. Not only it does create misunderstanding but it also leads to the cheating of innocent pupils by fraud people.