In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In most countries, buying a home is considered an important milestone for everyone. In recent years, people have seen that the majority of people prefer to buy a home instead of renting. From my point of view, I think that this is a positive trend due to its beneficial effects. To begin with, the main reason I advocate buying a home is that it is a reliable form of investment. In other words, the money to rent the house will be lost, while the money to buy the house will save the value. For example, with an income of 10 million VND per month, you can borrow to buy a house worth about 500 million VND and pay it off over 10 years. You will have your own house. But if you use that money to rent a house, it will take you a long time to save enough money to buy a house, and by the time you own that house, you are already old. In addition, people who have to pay a house rent every month will waste their money not only on renting a house but also on house maintenance. In fact, the rent fees could be increased every year, and the landlord could easily ask the family to move from the house after the contract is finished. For instance, many people in urban areas still have difficulties buying their houses and choose to rent houses from moneylenders that have been causing their financial problems for a long time. Moreover, the problem that comes from renting a house is more complicated than buying a house. Some other people argue that if you are living in a country that you can be sure about having a job or government support, it is better to consider renting as your primary choice, especially if you are young. Otherwise, if the unemployment rate in your area is high and you have the money to get a proper apartment, you should buy one in order to at least be sure about your home in case of unemployment. Hence, the correctness of this decision is dependent on your location and your country’s economic level. In summary, considering the reasons mentioned above, owning a home is a very profitable investment. Owning a home provides a sense of stability, comfort, and security without the risk of becoming homeless. This is seen as an important life milestone that everyone aspires to achieve.