Doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly, however, not many of them have an exercise routine. Why do you think it is happening? How can people be encouraged to exercise regularly?

Doing exercise is recommended by doctors, especially for elders, to maintain their health, although many of them do not do that. In my opinion, there may be two main reasons for that which could become less effective by taking some measures. Older people who do not work out regularly may have reasons such as a lack of ability and motivation. Many elders suffer from physical pain due to their sedentary lifestyle during their youth or malnutrition which resulted in backache or podalgia. These people prefer to stay home and avoid any kind of exercise to not worsen their health. Another reason could be referred to as the lack of incentive. Elders usually feel lonely and isolated which may cause depression. These feelings deter them to work out or even going for a walk. It is true that doing exercise is a physical activity, however, mental health and happiness are important factors to burst to do that. Government can take action to motivate older people to work out in different ways. Firstly, producing TV programmes to teach them what exercises are proper for them. For example, an instructor can do several gentle exercises to prepare them for walking and even dancing which not only benefits them physically but also mentally. Secondly, public calisthenics in every neighbourhood can be a good motivation for them to socialise and work out with their peers. If they have a daily set of physical exercises, they possibly can maintain their health and strength. In conclusion, it is true that most elders do not have regular exercise due to the lack of inspiration and physical pain, nevertheless, some TV programmes or public workout schemes can help them to be healthy.