A noticeable lack of students opting for science subjects at universities is observed in various countries. What are the reasons and what are the effects on society?

Nowadays, we can observe that fewer students throughout the world choose specializations at universities, which are related to science subjects. This trend is increasing dramatically every year. This essay will outline some of the main reasons why this situation occurs and what impact it might have on the society. Firstly, in my opinion, it occurs due to the lack of interest among students. In addition to this, there is a poor quality of education in ordinary schools and governmental universities. It is because the scientific laboratory rooms are not well-equipped with tools. Nowadays, students gain more and more theoretical knowledge without practical experiments. It affects understanding of the basic concepts of scientific subjects, which in turn decreases the intelligence level of the country. For instance, after graduation from my university, just three of my coursemates among 23 students pursued their education at the postgraduate level. It is a very low rate, in my opinion. Secondly, another significant reason is the tough path of scientists. In other words, to be successful and prominent scientists, people have to spend a large quantity of time, effort, and money to always gain new knowledge. Besides, those who work in this direction should know their specific subjects inside out. Therefore, you cannot get impressive experimental results after one research. For instance, the postgraduate students who study life sciences in my country carry out research for about two years. Therefore, a minority of undergraduate students continue their studies. To sum up, scientific subjects require people, who have passion, time, skills, abilities, a high rate of interest in subjects and, certainly of course, very well-equipped laboratories. If governments from all over the world ignore the importance of scientific subjects, it will cause a low level of enlightenment in the nation.