Social media has amassed large user bases. Do the advantage of being a part of social media site outweighs the disadvantage?

Nowadays, social media is one of the major parts of living. People can receive and gain any information from anywhere in the world via the internet, this is really convenient. In my notion, being a part of social media have more advantages than disadvantages and I am going to explain in the following paragraphs. First, in the previous era before the world has the internet we use different types of communication systems such as pigeons, that carry letters, then I think this method is tardy and complicated. However, today in the world of technology we have various sorts of social networks such as Facebook, Skype, Discord and Whatapps etc. and these all can bring the world smaller than ever. For example, some families do not live together in the same mansion or apartment maybe their parents live in their homeland but their offspring are living abroad, nevertheless, they can keep in touch with each other by using social media. Second, information and data from untrustable sources can be easy to be tracked and checked. Back in the day, we can only consume news from television and newspaper. These kinds of information sources can be simply controlled by the government and it means citizens have no right and no freedom to receive the facts. For instance, if you are in a country, that is strict with their citizens to consume only the information from government mass media and disallow their residents to reach the internet, this means the politicians can do anything that they want. But if you are in a nation where you are free to audit any sources of data that you can opt what staff you are going to believe, will it be better? In conclusion, the internet and technology do not have only advantages because the coin always has two sides. So this is our responsibility to choose the better way to use them.